(from the
August 2005 Maine Townsman)

Brunswick Town Councilor Barbara Desmarais will not be seeking re-election in November, citing family reasons. She has served her district since November 2003.

John Sylvester, chairman of the board of selectman in Alfred, has been appointed to fill a vacant term on the MMA Executive Committee. Sylvester will fill the remainder of a three-year term, through December 31, 2006, vacated by Gordon Paul, town councilor in Sanford, who was unable to complete his term due to his professional job responsibilities and time constraints.

In a five-person race on August 2, Matthew Arnett was elected to serve the remainder of a two-year term on the Hampden Town Council, vacated in May by George Cronk.

Harpswell selectmen have appointed Jim Hays to fill the town’s harbormaster position. Residents recently voted to make the position full time.

Portland deputy police chief Tim Burton will serve as interim chief of police, following the departure of Michael Chitwood in August. Chitwood served as the city’s police chief for 17 years. Burton will run the department until a permanent successor is found.

Brunswick Town Councilor Ralph Tucker has been nominated for a Maine District Court judgeship by Governor John Baldacci. On the town council since January, Tucker would be required to resign his council position if his nomination is confirmed.

Interim police chief in Searsport, Mark Pooler has been appointed to serve as the town’s permanent chief.

After 12 years as chief of the Union Fire Department, Paul Doughty has retired.

Former deputy police chief and former interim police chief Eric Nason has been appointed as Hallowell’s new police chief.

Richmond Town Manager David Peppard has reconsidered his decision to resign, which he had originally scheduled for April. Instead, he accepted an offer of a one-year contract from the town’s board of selectmen on June 30. Also in Richmond, former Fire Chief Richard Emmons has resigned; Emmons had served for nine years as chief, and for 31 years in the department. Deputy Chief Glenn DeWitt served as acting fire chief until Paul Adams was nominated, and appointed fire chief.

Jonathan Duke was elected chairman of the board on June 15 in a unanimous vote by Rockport selectmen. Incumbent board member John Annis was nominated and elected to the vice-chairman position.

Selectmen in Searsport have appointed James Gillway as town manager, filling the post that became vacant when Sandra Blake left in April.

Bradley’s interim town manager Melissa Doane of Milford has been appointed manager by the town council, following 4 months’ service as interim. Eric Gifford was appointed fire chief effective July 1. Gifford has served the department for 22 years.

Former longtime selectman and chairman in Waldoboro, Earle “Doc” Maxcy died July 6.

York County Commission chairman William “Bill” Layman died July 16.

Former first selectman in Cary and Amity, Laura McGary died July 26.

Two long-time municipal officials in Stockton Springs passed away in June. Howard Rubin, town assessor since 1998, died on June 7 and Mike Johnson, the plumbing inspector since the mid-1980’s died on June 12.