(from the
December 2005 Maine Townsman)

The Rumford Board of Selectmen has appointed Lt. Stacy Carter as the town’s new police chief.  Lt. Carter has been in law enforcement for 21 years, including 16 years with the Rumford Police Department and five years in Air Force Law Enforcement.  He attended Clinton Community College in New York and recently completed the Municipal Leadership Program through the USM Muskie School.   He replaces Chief Timothy Bourassa a police veteran of 27 years, who retired on December 23 after 25 years with the town.

In Presque Isle, incumbent Ron McPherson and Edwin Nickerson were elected to the city council on November 8.

Dorothy “Dot” Mithee, incumbent city councilor in Hallowell, won the November 8 race for an at-large seat on the council, 548-506. This will be her second term.

Rockland city councilors have elected fellow councilor Brian Harden as the city’s new mayor. Harden’s second term on the council expires in 2006. Newly elected councilors Eric Hebert and Hal Perry were sworn into office on November 21.

The selectmen/assessors in Rockport voted on November 14 to hire James Jurdak as the new assessors’ agent. Jurdak has quite a bit of municipal experience, including stints in Pittston, Winthrop and Damariscotta.

Close races in the November 8 Augusta elections saw Mark O’Brien, Michael Byron and Ed Coffin winning seats on the city council.

On November 8, Westbrook High School senior Mike Foley, age 18, was elected to an at-large seat on the Westbrook City Council.

Robert Yandow, a Vermont native,has officially taken over the reins of town manager in York. Yandow, who served as a Vermont police officer for 24 years, more recently served as city manager in Barre, Vermont, and then as city manager of Brisbee, Arizona. York has been without a permanent manager since January of 2005.

In Freedom, Lynn Hadyniak was elected to the board of selectmen.

Incumbent Councilor Mark Fisher retained his seat on the Oakland town council following the November 8 election.

Incumbent Fairfield Councilor Philip Roy, Jr. was reelected on November 8 to the town council, on which he currently serves as vice chairman. He was elected to a three-year term.

In China, Irene Belanger and Neil Farrington, running unopposed, were elected to the board of selectmen.

Voters in Brunswick elected Hallie Daughtry, Ryan Ewing, Newell Augur and Jeffrey Schneider, all newcomers, to the town council. Retaining their seats were incumbents W. David Watson and Joanne King.

In a close race in Topsham, former selectman Ronald Riendeau along with James Trusiani were elected to two seats on the board of selectmen.

James Omo and Brian Verville were elected to seats on the Bath City Council, and Council Chair David “Andy” Winglass won a contested race for the at-large seat.

In Sanford, incumbents Gordon Paul, council chair, and Joseph Hanslip were both reelected to three-year terms. In a three-person race for a one-year term seat on the council, Laura Nickerson emerged the winner.

Two incumbents in Freeport, Rich DeGrandpre and Frederick “Rick” White, have retained their town council seats. Newcomer Joe Migliaccio will replace council chairman Tom Rumpf.

Residents of Richmond have elected Jim Pearson to serve a two-year term on the board of selectmen.

In Saco, six-year incumbent Edward McDonough was defeated by newcomer Ronald Morton and 14-year veteran Arthur Tardif defeated his challenger to win seats on the city council.

Kittery voters chose newcomers Jeffery Brake and Judith Spiller to fill two open seats on the council.

A five-person race for two seats on the Old Orchard Beach Town Council had incumbents Shawn O’Neill and Joseph Kline winning new terms.

In Brewer, Councilor Gail Kelly will be the new mayor in 2006. Kelly has sat on the council since 2001. She served as mayor during 2002-2003.

The North Haven Board of Selectmen has hired John Marcarelli of North Wales, Pennsylvania, as town administrator. The town has been without an administrator for over two months.

The chair of the Wiscasset Board of Selectmen, Michael Blagdon, has resigned.

Martha Winter-Vining, a 24-year veteran town clerk in Readfield, is resigning her post effective in early January. Selectmen accepted her resignation on November 21.

Wilton Police Chief Wayne Gallant intends to run for Oxford County sheriff after Lloyd “Skip” Herrick retires in 2006. There are currently four candidates seeking the office in November 2006.

Monmouth selectmen have hired former Monmouth town manager Paul Bird as interim manager effective November 18. Selectmen are seeking a permanent replacement for Jason Simcock, who left his job as manager on November 17.

Doug Harris has announced his resignation from the town manager position he has held in Falmouth for the past 26 years. Harris will continue with the town until June 30.

Michael Webster, a Gardiner city councilor, died on November 18. Webster had served on the council since 1998.

Former longtime Presque Isle councilor, B. Jean Harding died on November 19. Harding was the first woman ever to be elected to the city council in Presque Isle.