(from the
February 2005 Maine Townsman)

Charles Noonan has been named town manager in Greene. Noonan has worked the last 13 years as manager of Martha’s Vineyard Refuse Disposal and Resource Recovery District in Massachusetts. The new Greene town manager is no stranger to Maine having served as town manager in Jay and Vinalhaven before taking on the Massachusetts solid waste job.

The board of selectmen in Minot have decided not to renew the contract of Town Administrator Greg Gill. Gill was hired a year ago. He had been town manager in Readfield prior to coming to Minot.

Dana Anderson, the long-time director of Parks & Recreation in South Portland, is taking on the added duties of public works director. City officials have decided to consolidate the leadership of the two departments. Anderson takes over the job that was held until the end of last year by Steve Johnson.

Damariscotta Fire Chief Neil Genthner Jr. has stepped down as head of the local fire department. Genthner has served 18 years with the department and will continue to serve, but not as the fire chief. Genthner is also a reserve police officer serving both the town of Damariscotta and the Lincoln County Sheriff’s Office. Doug Clark, a 17-year veteran of the department, has been named to replace Genthner as fire chief.

Bruce Savoy, animal control officer in Old Orchard Beach since 1999, is leaving to join the Wells Police Department as a patrol officer. Savoy has been very active in the Maine Animal Control Association having served as its president for several years.

For the third straight year, Crispin Connery has been elected by his fellow commissioners to chair the Sagadahoc County Board of Commissioners. Connery is a former selectman in Woolwich and former MMA president.

The Biddeford City Council has decided not to renew the contract of City Manager Edward Clifford. Clifford was working under a two-year contract and has held the job since July 2003.

James Knight, chairman of the Harpswell Board of Selectmen, has decided not to seek re-election in March. Knight has been on the board since 2002.

The Steuben Board of Selectmen decided on December 20 not to continue the employment of Town Manager Robert Sharkey. Sharkey’s last day on the job was January 6.

Pittsfield Town Clerk Yvonne Mailman has resigned.

J. Michael Huston has been appointed interim town manager in Wells. A former municipal manager in Hallowell and Oxford, Huston will manage town affairs while a new, permanent manager is recruited and hired to replace Jonathan Carter who is now Kittery’s town manager.

In Sanford, town councilors appointed Joseph Hanslip, a former York County commissioner, to fill a council vacancy created by the resignation of Roland Cote.

In York, the board of selectmen has decided to terminate its employment contract with interim town manager Ryan Hada. A former town administrator in Lubec, Hada was hired last July.

Calvin Hall has been elected council chairman by his fellow city councilors in Presque Isle and Robert Poiesz has been named the deputy chairman. Hall has been on the city council for three years and Poiesz has served two years.

In Brunswick, Forrest Lowe was reelected chairman of the town council.

In Fairfield, Richard Spear will again be chairing the town council and Philip Roy was reelected vice chairman of the council.

Doug Campbell, 72, a long-time selectman in Machiasport died on December 30 at his home in Machiasport. Campbell had been a selectman there since 1990.

Former Wiscasset Selectman George Flanders, 70, died January 5. Flanders served nine years on the board of selectmen and 20 years on the school board.

Kenneth Allen, 56, assessor for the town of Casco and a former selectman in his hometown of Sebago, died January 11 at Maine Medical Center in Portland following a six-month battle with pancreatic cancer.

Peter Garland, 81, former Maine congressman and former Bath city manager, died January 26.