(from the
July 2005 Maine Townsman)

In Pittsfield, Wayne Fotter was elected town councilor at large, and Kevin Taylor was elected councilor for District 4.

Ed Madden was sworn in as a new selectman in Lisbon. Michael Bowie was elected as chairman, and Charles Smith was elected as vice chairman.

Theodore Poirier won the selectman’s seat 165-72 in Dayton’s elections on June 7.

In Milbridge, Cathy Chipman was elected to a three-year term as selectman. Incumbent Gary Willey was re-elected to complete two years of the unexpired term of Bill Phinney. Willey has been elected to serve as chairman.

In a four-person race for two seats on the board of selectmen on June 14, incumbent Stacey Parra was re-elected and Barbara Tarantino was elected in Lincolnville.

Winning three-year terms on the board of selectmen in Wayne on June 15 are incumbent Carol Paradis and Gary Kenny. James Thompson won a two-year selectman’s seat left open by the resignation of Jim Turner.

In a three-person race in Rockport on June 14, Alex Arau and Robert Nichols were elected to two seats on the board of selectmen.

Freeport Fire Chief Darrel Fournier was injured in a motorcycle accident in early June and was hospitalized. He has been released and is recuperating from his injuries.

By a vote of 88-74, Walter Esancy defeated incumbent Wendy Chaston for a seat on Appleton’s board of selectmen.

Residents of Vinalhaven re-elected both Jason Day and Kathi Young to the board of selectmen on June 14.

C. Douglas Ludewig and Ronald Moody were elected to the Monmouth board of selectmen.

In a tight, three-way race on June 14 in Thomaston, incumbent selectmen Walter Breen and Lee-Ann Upham retained their seats on the board.

In Hope, incumbent selectmen Jerry Lizterman and James Annis were both re-elected to the board.

Voters in Camden re-elected Karen Grove and elected James Kierstead to serve on the board of selectmen.

Incumbent Robert McHatton, and longtime former Police Chief Robert Bell were elected to the Bridgton Board of Selectmen on June 14.

In Casco, Paul Edes was re-elected to the board of selectmen. He is joined by newcomer James Gerry. Susan Witonis won a two-year seat on the board.

Selectman Abraham Knight ran unopposed for a three-year term on Union’s board of selectmen on June 14, and Marcia Soule won the race for a two-year seat on the board.

In a selectman recall vote in Freedom on June 14, voters overwhelmingly defeated the recall, leaving Selectman Stephen Bennett in office.

By a vote of 777-681, political newcomer Robert Higgins won a seat on the board of selectmen in Kennebunk.

In Kennebunkport elections on June 14, the one open seat on the board of selectmen was filled by incumbent Mat Lanigan, running unopposed.

In a six-person race, Carleton Johnson and Delia Mohlie were elected to the board of selectmen in Waldoboro on June 14.

Incumbent Thomas Danylik will retain his seat on the board of selectman in Arundel.

Richard Daigle was elected to the Van Buren Town Council on June 15.

In a seven-person race for two seats on the Limestone Board of Selectmen, Steve Beaulieu and Jim Leighton were elected to serve for three-year terms.

Matt Brock was elected on June 14 to fill an open seat on the town council in Kittery.

In Winterport on June 14, incumbent selectman James Patterson and newcomer Susan Rioux were elected to seats on the newly-created town council. A new town charter has replaced the board of selectmen with a town council.

Incumbent selectman Richard Dionne and Donald Chasse were elected to three-year terms on the board of selectmen in Madawaska. Joining them is Paul Fongemie, who ran unopposed for a one-year term on the board.

In Stockton Springs, incumbent Thomas Fraser was re-elected to the board of selectmen.

Incumbent selectmen Randy Clark and Lori Newcomb were re-elected in Clinton on June 14.

In Dresden, John Rzasa was elected first selectman, and James Rea was elected second selectman.

James Briggs was elected to serve the remainder of a three-year term on Pownal’s board of selectmen, vacated in March by Sean O’Donnell Bennett due to medical reasons.

In Georgetown elections, George Horne won the selectman’s seat.

Incumbent Richard Goodall, and Donna Loring were elected to two, three-year positions on the board of selectmen in Richmond, unseating incumbent chair Alice Knapp. Mark Pearson was elected to a one-year term as selectman.