(from the
March 2005 Maine Townsman)

Corinna voters chose two new selectmen. Marvin Lister and Roger Whitney, son of former board chairman Roger Whitney Sr., were elected on March 11.

Elected as selectmen in Cherryfield on March 7 were incumbents Margery Brown and Richard Fickett.

In North Yarmouth, Carol Burgess and James Moulton were elected to the board of selectmen on March 11.

At local elections on March 12, residents of Pownal voted for William Crain to serve as selectman for a three-year term.

The resignation of Searsport Town Manager Sandra Blake was voted upon and unanimously accepted by four members of the board of selectmen. This was the second resignation announced by Blake within less than one month. In March 8 elections, incumbent selectman Carol Hersom and budget committee member Richard Desmarais were elected to the board of selectmen.

David Burns was elected to a three-year term on Alfred’s board of selectmen at the annual town meeting on March 12.

During Athens’ annual town meeting vote on March 12, incumbent selectmen were able to retain their seats. First selectman Brent L. Foss, along with second and third selectmen Charles G. Rotondi and Guy C. Anton, respectively, will continue to serve as selectmen.

Residents of Cornville voted March 12 to retain incumbent first selectman Melvin Blaisdell.

In town elections March 11, Denmark residents elected Alexander Stevens as selectman.

At the annual town meeting of New Vineyard, election results showed Faye Adams being elected to a three-year term as selectman.

Residents of West Paris voted to elect Wayne Theofrastou as selectman for a three-year term at the annual town meeting March 5.

In Otisfield elections, Thomas Nurmi was reelected as selectman for a three-year term; Mark Cyr was elected chairman of the board of selectmen for a year.

A ballot recount in Sabattus resulted in Guy Desjardins winning a selectman’s seat by one vote. Desjardins is a former police chief for the town as well as a selectman for five years in the 1990s.

Write-in candidate Ruth Botkin was elected on March 8 to a three-year term on Randolph’s board of selectmen. Botkin opted for write-in because she had been out of state when nomination papers were distributed.

Steuben selectmen voted to hire Tom Richmond as town manager on March 9. Richmond served as town manager in Carmel for six years until February. He served as manager in Tremont for 18 months, and in Greene for five years.

Raymond Webb was elected to a three-year term on Limington’s board of selectmen March 4.

Douglas Hazlett was appointed as Houlton town manager by town councilors February 28. Former town manager Peggy Daigle left in August to become city manager in Old Town. A newcomer to municipal leadership, Hazlett has worked in management, spending over 30 years with a large investment and insurance company.

Elected March 5 to selectmen’s seats in Strong were Tonia Boyd and Jeff Murphy.

Former Westbrook Mayor Philip D. Spiller, Ret. Col. USAR, died March 6. He served in numerous capacities with Westbrook, including engineer, organizer of public works department, and on the city council.