(from the
November 2005 Maine Townsman)

Madawaska has hired Suzie Paradis as the new economic development director. Paradis served eight years as administrative assistant in the economic development office in Fort Kent. This hiring marks the re-opening of the economic development office, after being closed for the past three years.

Presque Isle city councilors have appointed Richard Scott to fill the seat left vacant by the death of Bob Poiesz in September. Scott served on the council from 1993 to 2000. He will sit on the council until the end of this year.

Andrea Powers has been hired as town manager of Washburn, and began work on October 11. She was given a three-year contract. Powers replaces Jim Gardner, who served as manager for six years before leaving to become Ashland’s town manager.

Longtime Montville Town Clerk Lenora Martin resigned effective October 14. Martin served nearly 22 years as clerk. She has also served as the treasurer, tax collector, excise tax collector and registrar of voters.

After less than a year as town manager in Monmouth, Jason Simcock is resigning his position to take a job as director of planning and development in Gardiner.

Leonard Bates , chair of the Monmouth Board of Selectmen, resigned October 27, reporting that hostility at town meetings was interfering with the running of town business.

After 27 years as an Oxford County Commissioner, Albert “Jim” Carey announced his retirement October 18.

Portland City Manager Joseph Gray has selected Tim Burton, acting police chief since August, as the city’s new police chief. The city council approved the appointment at a meeting in early November.

Former Bath City Manager John Bubier, now city manager in Biddeford, was honored by the city’s downtown booster club at their annual dinner on October 24 with the group’s prestigious President’s Award.

Fred Rubino, police chief in Ogunquit since 2001, has resigned under a "mutual agreement" with the board of selectmen and Patricia Naudin, a sergeant with the department, has been appointed acting chief.

In Biddeford’s fire department, Paul Labrecque has been appointed to deputy chief. Labrecque had served as captain for two years, and as a firefighter for 27 years.

A close race for mayor in the City of Westbrook on November 8 had incumbent Mayor Bruce Chuluda winning a second term, fending off a challenge from city council president Jim Violette. The vote was 2,760 for Chuluda and 2,520 for Violette.

In South Portland, newcomers Kay Loring and Claude Morgan were elected to the city council on November 8, as was incumbent Mayor James Hughes. The two new members of the council replace David Jacobs and Thomas Maietta.

Anne Swift-Kayatta was the top vote getter and reelected to the town council in Cape Elizabeth on November 8 and newcomer Cynthia Dill was the second highest vote getter in the four-way race for two council seats.

Assistant Senate Majority Leader Kenneth Gagnon of Waterville has announced that he will not seek re-election to the State Senate next year.

Former Cape Elizabeth town councilor, William Jordan, 82, died October 2. Jordan was the recipient of MMA’s Ethel N. Kelley Memorial Award in 1997.

Former longtime York County Commissioner Barbara Weymouth, 78, died October 12.

William Judson, 67 , of Cushing died October 22. Judson spent 11 years in Maine municipal management in the mid-1980s and early 1990s. He served as town manager in Bethel, Lincoln and Thomaston.