Second Leadership Program Graduates 27
(from Maine Townsman, November 2001)
By Jeff Nevins, Director of Communications & Educational Services, MMA


Two years ago the Maine Municipal Association and the University of Southern Maine’s Muskie School of Public Service announced a unique new professional development program for municipal officials.  The Municipal Leadership Program – which consists of four sessions held quarterly on various University of Maine system campuses – was designed to enhance the leadership skills of Maine’s municipal officials and to help them prepare for the challenges and opportunities of the 21st century. 


The 2001 class of the Leadership Program finished their work in September. This year’s group was a diverse group with representatives from virtually every aspect of local government.  At MMA’s recent convention, we recognized the second year’s graduating class of 27 local government officials from all over Maine and announced plans for another program in 2002. The following is a list of the graduates of the 2001 program:


Diane Barnes, Finance Officer, Skowhegan

Robert Belz, Public Works Director, Auburn

Paul Blanchette, Town Manager, Fairfield

Marian Cadrette-Anderson, Code Enforcement Officer, Boothbay

Michael Carroll, EMS Coordinator, South Portland

Jennifer Connolly, City Councilor, Westbrook

Christopher Crovo, Director of Operations, Portland Water District

Nancy Crowell, Library Director, Scarborough

Beverly Curry, Deputy Clerk, Freeport

Jean Dellert, City Councilor, Gardiner

Robert Devlin, Deputy Manager, Cumberland County

Judith Doore, Town Manager, Corinna

Sylvia Gray, Administrative Asst, Newry

Sid Hazelton, Assistant Public Works Director, Auburn

Rodd Hopper, Selectman, Edgecomb

Lee Ann Horowitz, Finance Director, Searsport

Martha Huff, Selectperson, Hollis

Clark Labbe, Deputy Fire Chief, Brunswick

Michael Marshall, Fire Lieutenant, South Portland

Nancy Matthews, Finance Director, Farmington

Jay Robbins, Town Manager, Richmond

Wayne Scarano, Town Council, Millinocket

David Schmidt, Town Planner, Kittery

Skip Stanley, Public Works Operations Manager, Auburn

Rhonda Stark, Town Clerk/Treasurer, Skowhegan

Christina Therrien, Town Manager, Machias

Yvonne Wilkinson, Town Clerk & Treasurer, Gouldsboro


MMA has recognized for a number of years that many municipal officials have been interested in receiving advanced professional development programs to assist them in dealing with the many complex issues they face.


We are excited to offer this new program again in 2002. The partnership we have established with the Muskie School and with the University of Maine system, will continue and our hope is to expand the offerings to municipal officials.  This partnership has been formally recognized as the Maine Academy for Municipal Leadership and a steering committee was formed to provide advice and suggestions for future programming.  The Academy sponsors the Municipal Leadership Program and these expanded offerings to assist municipal officials in addressing the many challenges they face.


Information about the 2002 program will be available on MMA’s web site at We are hopeful that 30 – 35 municipal officials will participate in the program next year.  We plan to recognize the graduates of the program at next year’s MMA Convention that will be held October 17, 2002 in Bangor. 


We encourage you to learn more about this program.  Because of the limited space available for this program we anticipate if will fill-up quickly. If you have questions or need more information feel free to contact Jeff Nevins at MMA at 1-800-452-8786.